Mahoning County Sheriff's Office
Concealed Carry Information

Concealed Handgun License Office
110 Fifth Avenue
Youngstown, Ohio 44503
(330) 480-5030

Hours of Operation 


Monday – Friday
9:00am - 3:00pm
Closed Saturday, Sunday and all Legal Holidays

 

The following is a checklist of items the applicant must have to apply for the permit:

Ø     Must be a resident in Mahoning County or an adjacent county for 30 days

Ø     Application filled out completely and can be downloaded at the Ohio Attorney General’s website 

Ø     Color photo of applicant, passport size 2"x2", taken within 30 days w/ receipt 

Ø     Valid identification, drivers license, or state I.D.

Ø    Social Security Card must be presented.

Ø     Certificate of Competency or Prior Equivalent Documentation (The Sheriff's Office does not provide any training) If your permit is expired, you will need to present your training certificate.

Ø     Fee payment must be made by EXACT CASH or MONEY ORDER payable to “Mahoning County Sheriff” in the amounts of $67.00 if new and $50.00 if you are renewing your permit.  No other forms of payment will be accepted.

Ø  If not a resident of Ohio for 5 years, an additional fee of $24.00 for a FBI Background Check, a total of $91.00.

     Ø  If you would like the Mahoning County Sheriff’s Office to provide you with a passport photo for your CHL application, please include an additional $10.00 fee.

 

 

 In order for an Ohio resident to obtain a concealed handgun license, they must meet the following requirements in accordance with Ohio Revised Code Section 2923.125(A):

  1. At least 21 years of age
  2. An Ohio resident at least 45 days and a resident of the county of application (or an adjacent county) for at least 30 days
  3. Must have received a Certificate of Competency, as specified in O.R.C. Section 2923.125 (B) (3) (a), (b), (c), (e) or (f), within 3 years prior to date of application, covering the training requirements as specified in O.R.C. Section 2923.125 (G) (1) and (G) (2)
  4. Applicant is not disqualified pursuant to criminal background check or mental incompetency check, as specified in O.R.C. 2923.125 (D) (1) (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i) or (j), or retired as a result of a mental disability. Also, the applicant is not prohibited by O.R.C. 2923.13 Having Weapon While Under Disability.
  5. Must have a color photo taken within 30 days of application passport size 2"x2"
  6. Attest that applicant has read pamphlet provided by Ohio Peace Officers Training Commission as specified, and also attest the handgun shall be carried for a lawful purpose
  7. Non-refundable fee of $67.00 at the time of the application, unless retired law enforcement whereby the fee is waived.

a) Retired law enforcement documentation; retirement I.D. card with date of retirement, or letter from law enforcement agency stating date of retirement.

 

APPLICANT TO PRESENT AT TIME OF APPLICATION:

            A.    Completed application.

      B.     Color photo, passport size 2"x2", taken within 30 days of application w/ receipt.

            C.     Valid identification, driver’s license, or state I.D.

            D.    Certificate of Competency or Prior Equivalent Documentation.

            E.     If mentally incompetent, documentation showing they have been restored.

F.      If prohibited from having a weapon under O.R.C. 2923.13 and the reason is not specifically prohibited in O.R.C. 2923.125, must have court documents granting relief for disability.

APPLICANT MUST ATTEST TO:

            A.    Applicant has received and read the Ohio Peace Officers Training Commission pamphlet.

            B.  Handgun shall be carried in a lawful manner

APPLICANT MUST SUBMIT TO:

A.                Fingerprints electronically scanned or

B.                 Fingerprints inked and rolled onto fingerprint card

 APPLICANTMUST PASS

A.                A background check to determine:

Applicant meets age requirement

Applicant meets residence requirement

Applicant does not have a criminal record, including expunged records (Federal, State and Local)

Applicant has not been adjudicated mentally incompetent

APPLICANT MUST PAY AT TIME OF APPLICATION:

A.                Non-refundable fee of $67.00 (MONEY ORDER or EXACT CASH ONLY) Fee is waived for retired law enforcement personnel (Retired law enforcement documentation; retirement I.D. card with date of retirement, or letter from law enforcement agency stating date of retirement.)

B.                 Non-refundable fee of $24.00, if a resident of the state of OHIO for less than five (5) years, a total of $91.00.

 

RENEWAL APPLICATION:

Renewal applications can be applied/processed up to 90 days prior to the expiration date on the card.

   

 

The Concealed Handgun License Office is located at the Mahoning County Justice Center, 110 Fifth Avenue, through the main doors.

 

**Once your CHL permit has been processed, we will notify you by telephone with pick up information.

joomla template 1.6